Crossfit June 10, 2012


Today I had an amazing experience; for the first time in my life I participated in a Fitness Competition. http://www.wilkesbarreracing.com/WBFitnessChallenge/

Here is some background: In November of 2011, I had reached a point in my life where I was in bad physical shape.  I was gaining weight, feeling tired, and maintaining no consistent physical activity.  I said to myself: ” Im 25 years old, this should not be happening!”.  I searched around and found VieFit. Rob Barrese is the trainer and runs the club out of his garage.  I bet that arises many questions and concerns but lets not dwell on this. You can learn more about Viefit by visiting his site: http://www.viefit.org/

Fast forward to today, I am competing in a fitness challenge with crossfit gyms and other atheletes in NEPA.  Lets be clear: 8 months ago, I couldn’t do 5 pushups without rolling over and hyperventilating, or run around the block without my head spinning! Rob has trained me over the past months to lift, push myself, and develop hunger for getting faster and stronger. The need for this evolution is what has helped me stick it out.  In his gym he stresses a valuable persepective: “My workout, my pace, dont quit”–Chris Spealler.

There is a bit of controversy about Crossfit with its increasing popularity.  I wish to quickly share my perspective.  What do I love about crossfit? Anyone can do it! It’s true beauty lies in combining an array of exercises and movements providing an endless amount of combinations for workouts.  This keeps me both interested and motivated while allowing me to work on my entire body from head to toe.  At any given time we can do everything and anything.  I jump, do situps, lift weights, swing kettlebells (my personal favorite)…the list goes on.

On the not so bright side,  there is a chance to hurt yourself with the wrong coaching. All I have to say about that is: Be careful.  Take your time, do your homework, ask around! Dont be afraid to challenge someone who is preaching to you about fitness.  Believe no one and learn for yourself and by what YOU see.  Often times your instinct will lead you to the right conclusion.  I am a big supporter of the fundimentals of crossfit because IT WORKS FOR ME, and by the look of things, the same goes for many others.  There are some great discussions on this topic so feel free to browse if interested:

 http://fitfinity.net/2011/01/19/crossfit-the-good-the-bad-the-ugly/

Crossfit Sucks?

Back to today…. Was I the fastest or strongest there? Not by a longshot! I had three objectives. 1. Particpate. 2.Go at my pace 3.Dont quit! You may think, If you’re not in it to win it, whats the point? Well, all I have to say is this was a win for me.  (Please refer to my situation 8 months ago)

I would like to tell you about my most gratifying moment of the day which took place during event #4.

Event 4- As Many Reps as possible in 12 mins of:

1. Farmer carry two kettlebells 60 meters to base of dike then drop at cone
2. Sprint 10 meters to the top of the dike and touch the cone
3. Sprint 10 meters down the dike, must stay on feet*
4. Pick up and farmer carry kettlebells back to start/turnaround point
(70lbs kettlebell male/35lbs kettlebell female)

I had finished a round and had 38 seconds on the clock. All the other competitors in my heat were in the middle of finishing something.  I could do one of two things: earn a point for finishing #1 or take a rest and let the clock run out. What did I do? I picked up the kettebells and hauled my little tushy over those 60 meters for that extra point. I could hear people screaming and cheering me on! Imagine, total strangers intensely rooting for me to make it that last stretch.  Demonstrating that level determination made me realized I love this!

With that story I move on to share some images from our team and our strength.

2 thoughts on “Crossfit June 10, 2012

  1. Anabell, I was fortunate to have judged you for the 2 lifting events during the Fitness Challenge. Not only did you have excellent form on all of the lifts, but more importantly, you showed so much focus and determination. I was impressed with what you accomplished that day and after reading your backstory I think I am even more impressed! Keep up the good work and you will go far.
    ~Annie

    1. Annie,

      Thank you so much for your kind words!! It means alot to me. It gives me more reason to continue on my journey and get better. I had alot of fun that day and that was enhanced by you being not only my judge but a supporter throughout the two events together. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

