A taste of two continents


I got to start my stay in Istanbul with a food tour.  It was phenomenal! Be prepared for your tastebuds to act up a little because this is what will happen when you see the pictures.

This is my first time doing a food tour.  Throughout my research I have heard people rave about Istanbul’s food scene and it made me excited. Me + food = happiness! Since my days are limited here, I booked a food tour with Istanbul on food- A taste of two continents. For those of you who didn’t know, Istanbul has a side that is geographically in Europe and the other side is in Asia. Visually and culturally these two areas are the same but technically they are two continents! There, you may have learned something new.

Istanbul on food was a tour I found on TripAdvisor and let me tell you…all those great reviews are accurate! We visited 13 places and ate for almost 6 hours!! It was a small group and our guide was knowledgeable and very accommodating.  I will just stop here and show you the rest.  Picking a select number of pictures was tough but here is the highlight.  Enjoy!

Some foods were a first for me like: Cheese aged inside the sheep, intestines, and goat milk ice cream. I ate the intestines and they were good but my least favorite…the cheese and ice cream were delicious!

IMG_5896 copy
Spices at the spice market
IMG_5897 copy
Dried chilies and eggplant. These are hanging all over the place in the spice bazaar.
IMG_5904 copy
Our Guide telling us about how the Turkish people love to cook with tomato paste
Goat cheese aged inside the goat skin! Tastes declious!
Goat cheese aged inside the goat skin! Tastes declious!
IMG_5939 copy
This will change your life! A cream cheese with honey called Bal kaymak

IMG_5915 copy

IMG_5943 copy

I ate Candied tomates, eggplant, and olives. They were all great!
I ate Candied tomates, eggplant, and olives. They were all great!
Turkish Candy store
Turkish Candy store
Authentic Turkish Food!
Authentic Turkish Food!

IMG_5973 copy IMG_5983 copy

Fresh fish!!
Fresh fish!!

IMG_5990 copy

Alot of stay cats in Istanbul! and they are EVERYWHERE!!!
Alot of stay cats in Istanbul! and they are EVERYWHERE!!!
stuffed muscles
stuffed muscles
Fried Muscles!
Fried Muscles!
Fresh Market!
Fresh Market!

IMG_6012 copy

Ayran...a delicous Turkish Yogurt Drink!
Ayran…a delicous Turkish Yogurt Drink!
Eating Intestines!
Eating Intestines!
Apple fizzy drink
Apple fizzy drink

IMG_6044 copy

best Baklava EVER!!!
best Baklava EVER!!!
Cant leave without a turkish coffee!!
Cant leave without a turkish coffee!!

IMG_6058 copy

Turkish Ice cream...Double D...Different and Delicious!
Turkish Ice cream…Double D…Different and Delicious!
Leave a Reply

