Lives matter- Thanksgiving


Thanksgiving floods my newsfeed with people giving thanks for family, friends, and turkey.  This is what happens in America nowadays, we post on Facebook and eat our hearts out with turkey with all the trimmings.  We enjoy family and eat so much we can’t move.

IMG_4988 copy

As Americans, we sometimes forget how good we have it.  The basis of the country was founded on immigrants and I am one of them; an immigrant who has worked hard and ripped the benefits of the great American dream.  So I get it, and I am truly thankful for this opportunity and a life full of prosperity.

  • I am thankful of the sacrifices my mom, grandmother, and family made
  • I am thankful for all of the charitable work and interest some angelic souls took in me throughout my life
  • I am thankful for friends who are my guardian angels– taking me into their lives, homes, and families
  • I am thankful for an amazing man in my life who treats me like a queen and supports all of my ideas and shows me how a true team works: working together through the difficult times in life while celebrating the blessings.

Bati20120217_0011June 1, 2012

  • 1

HK20000101_0293

Traveling has helped me put my advantages and opportunities into perspective.  As I showed you, SaPa was tough but rewarding because it made me thankful.  With all of the uproar for Ferguson and immigration laws, it is important we keep things in perspective.  Lives matter--regardless of race and color.  So lets really look at all the lives on the planet and truly give thanks for what you have while living in a developed country.

SaPa20141117_0571

HK20000101_0120 copy

So lets truly give thanks by taking action:  Read, stay informed, use all of the american privileges to make the world a better place (not just for yourself).  Education and information is the biggest tool towards progression.  In the U.S. we get wrapped up in our issues and forget the rest of the world- if every life matters we need to work at making the entire world a better place.  Theres room for everyone to live sustainably, have education, and live peacefully.  It starts with doing something about it.

Here are a couple of ideas to get you started:

  1. https://www.dosomething.org/campaigns
  2. Follow a blog or a few blogs about anything that interest you: WordPress.org is a good place to start
  3. Volunteering Vacations:
    1. http://www.metowe.com/volunteer-travel/
    2. http://www.gviusa.com/about-us/why-gvi/
    3. http://www.fsdinternational.org/
    4. http://www.worldyouth.org.au/
  4. Volunteer locally: tutor, mentor for Big Brother/Big Sister
Leave a Reply

